Whats your name?
Mollie Hughes

What do you do for living and where do you do it?
I live in Edinburgh, Scotland. I am a motivational speaker, so I travel around the UK visiting schools and business, I present my story of becoming one of the youngest women to summit Mount Everest when I was 21.

Whats your favorite part of your job?
Having the chance to inspire people, especially school kids, it is the best job in the world. When you know that you have got through to a student and make them realise that they can achieve absolutely anything in life is an incredible feeling.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
Any kind of adventurous sport and I am in! Rock climbing, ice climbing, mountaineering, surfing, skiing, sea kayaking and I am just starting to learn to fly a speed wing, so that I don’t have to walk down mountains anymore….

What was your last travel destination and what will be the next?
My last big trip was in Autumn ’14 when I was climbing a beautiful mountain in the Himalayas called Ama Dablam.
In spring 2016 I am hoping to travel to Tibet and climb Mount Everest from the North route, it all depends on whether or not I manage to raise the sponsorship to do this but if I am successful next year I will become the first British woman to climb Everest from both sides.

Favorite city?
Kathmandu, Nepal. It is an incredible city, a bustling mix of many religions, cultures and nationalities. I fell in love with this city the first time I visited, the organised chaos of the road systems, the jumbled buildings, the ancient monuments and the generosity and openness of the inhabitants. It is the gateway to many of the mountains that I climb and I can’t wait to return.

Are you on Instagram, if yes can we follow you? 🙂
Of course! @molliejhughes

Show me your 3 favorite Instagram images you took!

Who do you like to follow on Instagram and why?
Climbers, surfers, travellers, people who take beautiful pictures of the world and inspire me to live life to the full.

Summer or Winter?

Tough one! I LOVE summer, sunshine, the beach, ice creams…..but I am a mountaineer, so winter is when I have the most fun…. Living in Edinburgh is great in winter, the city is so close to some amazing mountains and some interesting skiing too!

Dress or Jeans?
My five year old self (who stole my brothers clothes…) would hate me for saying this but definitely a dress! I spend so much time having to wear ‘outdoor’ clothes when in the mountains or away on expeditions, so when I am going out it is great to put on a dress and make up and look like a girl!

Tv-Show or Movie?
Movie….I never seem to have the time commitment for TV shows…

Cheese or Bacon?
Bacon! Anytime of the day or night….it’s so good.

Ocean or Mountains?
My two favorite places J I grew up next to the ocean in Devon far from any mountains, I learnt to surf when I was young and always feel at home next to the ocean where ever I am in the world. But mountains, especially big mountains are incredibly special places to me and something I didn’t experience until later in my teens. I wouldn’t ever say that I feel at home in the mountains, they are not places to relax and let your guard down. But the most amazing days of my life have been spent in the mountains.

Name 5 things you can’t live without, when you are going on a road-trip!
Good music, good food, cheap wine, my surfboard and some great friends!

Ok, last question:  if you could be an animal, what would it be? (Unicorns and dragons are counting as well!)
Since I am currently learning to fly, definitely a bird…maybe a Himalayan Eagle so I can soar over mountains!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.